Der Berg des Lao Zi in der Provinz Sichuan und die 24 Diözesen der daoistischen Religion

Submitted by Olles Volker on Sat, 02/14/2009 - 10:46
Olles Volker's picture
TitleDer Berg des Lao Zi in der Provinz Sichuan und die 24 Diözesen der daoistischen Religion
Publication TypeBook
Year of Publication2005
AuthorsOlles, V.
PageXII, 306
Place PublishedWiesbaden
Type of WorkPh. D. Thesis
Keywords24 Dioceses, Daoist Sacred Space, Laojun shan, Sichuan

The twenty-four dioceses (ershisi zhi) of early Celestial Master Daoism (Tianshi dao) appear as a system of religious geography in various texts of the Daoist canon (Daozang). They were religious administrative spheres of an early Daoist movement and as such played an important role in the founding process of China’s native religion. These administrative spheres were centered around mountains or hills surrounded by fertile farmland. From the beginning, their function was of a spiritual nature, and after the vanishing of the early Daoist movement these mountains became locations for temples and monasteries. Mt. Laojun (Laojun shan), the Mountain of Lord Lao, is located in Xinjin District, south of the Sichuanese capital of Chengdu. This mountain has been identified as the center of the former diocese Chougeng (Chougeng zhi) and, furthermore, has a long history as sanctuary for the worship of Laozi. The temple on Mt. Laojun is today a very active and flourishing institution that belongs to the Dragon Gate (Longmen) order of Complete Perfection (Quanzhen) Daoism. This study is the first comprehensive monograph that illustrates Mt. Laojun’s past and present in order to provide an insight into the nature and meaning of Daoist sacred space.